Enneagram: How to Self-Type

The Enneagram is quite a complex system. Which is good, because you’re quite a complex human. We all have pieces within us from all 9 types, so it can be tricky to find your type. Taking an assessment can be a helpful first step, but if your results don’t feel accurate, know that every Enneagram assessment has a margin of error. If you’re questioning your results, you can try taking the assessment a few times over a few weeks. You can also read more about each type in our series of blogs. Know that when you’re reading about the positive attributes of a type, it can be easy to relate to multiple Enneagram types. The real indicator of your type is often found in the less positive side, and you may know it’s your true type when you feel that “punch in the gut.” 

Here’s a quick list of some of the highlights of each Enneagram type. You can click on each type to go to a deeper dive on each one.


  • High Level: perfectionist, rational, disciplined, practical

  • Core Fears: being corrupt; losing sense of integrity; being wrong or lazy

  • Focus of Attention: what’s right or wrong

  • Energizers: organization; perfection

  • Core Motivations: want to be right, justify themselves, perfection


  • High Level: people-pleasing, nurturing, caring, supportive

  • Core Fears: being unloved or unwanted; not being seen as worthy of love or care

  • Focus of Attention: what others want

  • Energizers: helping others

  • Core Motivations: to express feelings for others, feel appreciated


  • High Level: driven, achieving, goal-oriented, efficient

  • Core Fears: being worthless or undesirable apart from achievements; being disrespected

  • Focus of Attention: goals; achieving

  • Energizers: accomplishing tasks; achieving

  • Core Motivations: to be admired, to impress others, success


  • High Level: expressive, unique, self-aware, deep

  • Core Fears: not being unique, and being seen as worthless for this

  • Focus of Attention: what was, what will be, what isn’t

  • Energizers: feeling unique; acting meaningfully

  • Core Motivations: to express themselves and feel unique


  • High Level: innovative, private, observant, analytical

  • Core Fears: be helpless or incompetent; not being knowledgeable

  • Focus of Attention: thinking

  • Energizers: having the answers; being knowledgeable

  • Core Motivations: to be knowledgeable as a form of protection from threats or harm


  • High Level: responsible, loyal, suspicious of future, questioning

  • Core Fears: not have direction or support; not be able to keep going on their own; uncertainty

  • Focus of Attention: evidence that doesn’t line up; inner questioning

  • Energizers: looking out for others; being prepared

  • Core Motivations: to feel secure and supported, be prepared or aware of danger


  • High Level: spontaneous, optimistic, imaginative, curious

  • Core Fears: needs and wants are not fulfilled by others; pain; deprivation

  • Focus of Attention: great possibilities; options

  • Energizers: enjoying different activities; excitement

  • Core Motivations: maintain freedom, avoid missing out, have a plan for the future


  • High Level: confrontational, decisive, tough-minded, authoritative

  • Core Fears: be limited or controlled

  • Focus of Attention: power; control

  • Energizers: independence; feeling in charge

  • Core Motivations: be self-reliant and prove strength, be in control


  • High Level: agreeable, peaceful, patient, open-minded

  • Core Fears: being disconnected from others; being confronted

  • Focus of Attention: other people’s opinions or points-of-view

  • Energizers: keeping the peace; being connected and getting along with others

  • Core Motivations: create harmony, avoid conflict, have peace

To break down the different parts of the Enneagram, here are blogs on Wings, Arrows, and Triads.